Whole roasted trout, stuffed with lemon and tarragon

The other evening one of our family friends arrived, unannounced, at our back door and presented us with two whole trout that he had caught that afternoon. He preceded to gut and clean the fish in our kitchen sink. All of this was rather unexpected and slightly alarming. But actually quite interesting, as I’d never seen a fish cleaned before.

11352056_1568752823373807_811217812_n

To get the point, this bizarre occurrence led to a frankly delicious meal (even if I do say so myself). And it was so easy!

Here’s a picture of the (slightly less frightening) finished product:

11417436_495557547289814_62187300_n

I simply stuffed the trout with slices of lemon and sprigs of tarragon. Then squeezed lemon over the fish, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and wrapped it in tin foil. I baked the fish in the oven for around 20 minutes. It was unbelievably tasty, and retained it’s moisture beautifully as it was cooked on the bone.

I served the fish wish buttered new potatoes, and roast mediterranean vegetables.

I have to say, I think eating fish on the bone is one of my favourite things to do. Some people find it a bit fiddly, and don’t like the idea of the bones. But with the right eating technique bones are easily avoided. And, in my opinion, worth it. However, I do slightly relish the element of dissection involved, so perhaps I am biased.

Leave a Reply

