Maunika Gowardhan’s Indian Kitchen

If you like authentic Indian cooking, then I would recommend buying Indian Kitchen by Maunika Gowardhan.

indian kitchen

I came across Maunika’s blog on her website a few months ago. Her simple but exciting recipes intrigued me, and I decided to give one a go. And so began my love affair with her cooking!

I was so excited when I heard that she was publishing a book, and bought it as soon as it was available. It is full of beautiful recipes for unusual curries and meat dishes, exciting side dishes and traditional Indian desserts.

The other night I made an absolutely beautiful chicken curry, cooked with mint, coriander, cashew nuts and tamarind. It was so quick to produce, and so flavoursome! Here’s a picture of the curry in progress:

11351562_534478176705577_1435504694_n

 

In the past I’ve made her Murgh Korma, Chingri Macher Malai (a Bengali Prawn curry with mustard coconut and chilli) and Goan Xacuti Chicken (a chicken curry spiced with star anise and nutmeg), among others! I am yet to be disappointed by one of her dishes.

So if you’re on the look our for interesting Indian recipes, or perhaps a gift, then I recommend Indian Kitchen!

Leave a Reply

