GET OUT

I found the final two years of my four year degree very difficult. I struggled to find a work-life balance, and take time out to have fun. One of the main things that bothered me in those two years was the amount of time I spent indoors, alone, working. I was always a very outdoorsy child; I have so many memories of time spent on walks with my family and playing in the village with friends. I had amazing friends at University who I value immensely (even if I don’t express it). But I didn’t allow myself to enjoy their company frequently enough. It was largely self-inflicted, but I still felt profoundly trapped, isolated and miserable.

It’s nearly 2 months since I graduated, and getting out in the fresh air (in the sun and rain – this is England after all) is having a profound effect on my state of mind. As I spent day after day as a slave to the library and to my routine, I was aware of my desire to spend more time outside. But I was so strict with myself, and so scared of wasting time, that I didn’t do anything about it. But now I see how important it is.

Getting out and doing at least a little bit of exercise every single day massively lifts my mood. So if you’re feeling a bit grotty or tired, try going for a walk around the block and see what happens!

My friend Rachel and me at the top of Harrison Stickle in the Lake District.
My friend Rachel and me at the top of Harrison Stickle in the Lake District.
Leave a Reply

