Homemade Buckwheat Granola

Staying true to my word, I made my own Buckwheat Granola. I am thrilled with the result – it is crunchy, sweet and healthy!

I made mine using only 4 ingredients: 175g raw buckwheat, 80g dates, water and salt. So simple, yet delicious!

Buckwheat soaking

 

Yesterday morning, I began the process by soaking the Buckwheat in cold water all day. In the evening, I drained and rinsed the buckwheat, then re-covered it and left it to soak overnight.

In the morning I drained the water away and left the buckwheat in a colander to let it dry off a bit.

 

Next, I removed the stones from my dates and roughly chopped them up. I blended my dates in to a smooth paste by adding a little water, and a pinch of salt. Then I combined the dates with the Buckwheat and smoothed it on to a lined baking tray (as pictured below).

Buckwheat mixture on baking paper

I popped the tray in to the oven and baked the Buckwheat mixture for 20 minutes at 150 degrees. After this time, I turning the clusters over and baked for a further 10-20 minutes, until they looked like this:

The finished product

How easy was that?

Ridiculously easy. And it tastes phenomenal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

